Prisoners’ Letters. ‘Veterans’ Radio’. K.C. Former Prisoner.

The following is a letter to insidetime, from issue January 2013

Veterans Radio

From Kenneth Campbell – Former prisoner

I am a 56 year old Falklands War Veteran and after suffering for years in 2007 I was finally diagnosed as suffering from Combat Related PTSD. Unfortunately later that same year, due to the fact that I had for year’s self medicated with alcohol to try and escape from the relentless nightmares and flash backs, the “system” unable to handle any other way the nasty violent drunk I had become sent me to jail, I was sentenced to 3 years serving 18 months at HMP Stocken. It came as a hell of a shock when I realised just how many Ex Forces Personal were in just that one prison. In 2008 the Governor allowed me along with another Veteran to set up a Veterans Group meeting every 2nd Thursday in the Chapel. I am glad to say that since my release in early 2009 my life has taken on a new and much better direction, the system was still unable to offer me any significant help but with the support and love of family and a few Very Good Friends I was introduced to some of the small Veterans Charities and something called Neuro-linguistic programming or NLP. Working with a Veteran who knew the sort of hell I had lived through, in just 3 short days we were able to do what the NHS had failed to do over many years, 3 day is all that was needed to end the nightmares and flash backs. So, why am I telling you this?

Well, I have over the last 3 years trained to a point that I am now a NLP Master Practitioner and work with other Veterans and a few small Charities to give back some of the help I was so lucky to be given. In addition to this I have this week set up a Web Site and Inter Net Radio Station for Veterans and their Families, www.veteransradionet.com

I hope that it may give others some small amount of hope or encouragement to face up to release and let them know that if nothing else, in www.veteransradionet.com they can have a friendly ear on the outside, someone who knows firsthand how hard it can be getting back to some sort of normal life.

~ by alexa8584 on January 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
